Call Us: +44 1534 679800 Jersey |  +27 (11) 447 2499 South Africa



Leigh Alan Wilson - Chairman, and Director

Member of Governance, Compensation, Nomination, Strategic Planning and Disclosure Committees

leighwMr. Leigh Alan Wilson has an international business and financial services background having served in senior executive and management positions with Union Bank of Switzerland (Securities) Ltd. in London and with the Paribas Group in Paris and New York where he served as CEO of Paribas North America between 1984 and 1990.

Mr. Wilson has served on the Victory Fund Board since 1993 and currently serves as Independent Chairman of its Board of Trustees.

Mr Wilson is also the Chief Executive Officer of New Century Home Health Care Inc., a role he has held since 1995. In March 2006, Mr. Wilson received the Mutual Fund Trustee of the Year Award from Institutional Investor Magazine. 

Between March 2008 and October 2008, Mr. Wilson was an Independent Non-Executive Director of Caledonia. 

Mr. Wilson was re-appointed to the Caledonia board as an independent non-executive director in May 2012 and was appointed Chairman in May 2013. 


Steve Curtis, C.A. (SA) - Chief Executive Officer (Caledonia Mining South Africa Proprietary Limited) and Director

Member of Strategic Planning, Technical and Disclosure Committees


Mr. Curtis is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years’ experience and has held a number of senior financial positions in the manufacturing industry. Before joining Caledonia in March 2006, he was Director Finance and Supply Chain for Avery Dennison SA and prior to this Financial Director and then Managing Director of Jackstadt GmbH South African operation. Mr. Curtis is a member of the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants and graduated from the University of Cape Town. He was appointed to the Caledonia board in July 2008.

Mark Learmonth - Chief Financial Officer and Director

Member of Strategic Planning and Disclosure Committees


Mr Learmonth joined Caledonia in July 2008. Prior to this, he was a Division Director of Investment Banking at Macquarie First South in South Africa, and has over 17 years' experience in corporate finance and investment banking, predominantly in the resources sector in Africa.

Mr Learmonth graduated from Oxford University and is a chartered accountant. Mr Learmonth is a member of the Executive Committee of the Chamber of Mines, Zimbabwe. Mr Learmonth was appointed Caledonia's Chief Financal Officer in November 2014.

John Lawson Kelly - Director

Member of Audit, Governance, Compensation, Strategic Planning and Disclosure Committees

johnkMr. John Lawson Kelly has over 30 years of experience in the financial services industry in the U.S.A and international markets including emerging markets in Asia. He has held executive management positions in globally active, full-service financial firms as well as technology-enabled financial services.   

Mr Kelly was appointed to the Caledonia board as an independent non-executive director in May 2012.

Johan Andries Holtzhausen - Director

Member of Audit, Compensation, Nomination, Strategic Planning, Technical and Disclosure Committees; Chairman of the Audit Committee


johanhMr. Johan Andries Holtzhausen is a retired partner of KPMG South Africa with 42 years of audit experience, of which 36 years were as a partner focused on the mining sector. Mr Holtzhausen chaired the Mining Interest Group at KPMG South Africa and his clients included major listed mining companies operating in Africa and elsewhere, which operated across a broad range of commodities. In addition to his professional qualifications, Mr Holtzhausen holds a B.Sc. from the University of Stellenbosch, majoring in chemistry and geology. 

Mr Holtzhausen is chairman of the Finance, Audit and Risk Committees of Strategic Partners in Tourism and its related party the Tourism Micro Enterprises Support Fund, both of which are not-for-profit organizations. Until 28 February 2011, Mr Holtzhausen served as a director of KPMG Inc. and KPMG Services (Pty) Ltd, both of which are private companies registered in South Africa and which provided audit, taxation and advisory services. My. Holtzhausen is also a non executive director of DRDGOLD Ltd. a medium sized South African gold producer listed in on the Johannesburg and New York Stock Exchanges.

John McGloin - Director

Member of Audit, Governance, NominationStrategic Planning and Technical Committees


John McGloinJohn McGloin is the former Chairman and Chief Executive of Amara Mining and is currently a Non-executive director of Perseus Mining. Mr McGloin joined Caledonia in August 2016, he is a geologist and graduate of Camborne School of Mines.

Mr McGloin worked for many years in Africa within the mining industry before moving into consultancy. He joined Arbuthnot Banking Group following four years at Evolution Securities as their mining analyst.

He is also the former Head of Mining at Collins Stewart.


Majority Voting Policy

The Board of Directors adopted a Majority Voting Policy dated February 15, 2013 (the “Majority Voting Policy”).  Pursuant to the Majority Voting Policy, if a Director nominee had more votes withheld than were voted in favour of him or her, such nominee must have forthwith submitted his or her resignation to the Board of Directors, effective on acceptance by the Board. However, since the continuance of Caledonia from Canada to Jersey proxy voting forms now include ‘for’, ‘against’ and ‘abstain’ options for voting, in accordance with voting methods typical for a Jersey incorporated company, rather than using the previous ‘in favour’ and ‘vote withheld’ options typical for a Canadian incorporated company.  An abstention under Jersey law is not counted for the purposes of calculating a vote and is not included in calculating a quorum.  The Majority Voting Policy is therefore not relevant to the extent that the new voting options are used and, instead, if a director receives more votes ‘against’ than ‘for’ his reappointment his appointment will simply be terminated without any requirement to tender his resignation.  Notwithstanding this, the rules of the TSX require us to include a copy of the Majority Voting Policy on our website.

Majority Voting Policy PDF: Click here